Join Us On GFCF Kids   |  Facebook  

 


Home

 

The GFCF Diet Intervention - Autism Diet  


Gluten Free/Casein Free Food List
| Wheat Free Dairy Free | Shopping Guide Dietary Intervention for ASD - Celiac

    Success Stories | Frequently Asked Questions | Directory Of Website | Community Bulletin Board
 


Unacceptable
 

NOTE: 
The following foods, additives and ingredients are NOT a complete list of all unacceptable items !   
                                          
Unsafe Additives & Ingredients

A
Abyssinian Hard (Wheat Triticum duran)
Acidophilus milk
Alcohol (Spirits - Specific Types)
Amylase
Artificial Butter flavor
Aspartame (can cause IBS symptoms -Irritable Bowel Syndrome)
Avena 

B
Baking Powder (verify ingredients)
Barley
Barley malt
Barley Hordeum vulgare
Beer
Bleached All-purpose Flour
Bouillon cubes or powder
Bran
Bulgur (Bulgur Wheat/Nuts)
Butter
Butter fat
Butter flavoring
Butter oil
Buttermilk
Bran
Broth prepackaged
Bulgur

C
Calcium Caseinate  
Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate
** (see below)
Caramel Color**** see below 
Casein
Caseinates
Cheese
Cheeses (hard and soft)
Cereal extract
Cereal Binding
Chilton
Chorizo (read label)
Coffee creamer substitute (grain based)
Cottage Cheese
Couscous
Cracker meal
Cream
Cream Cheese
Cream Yogurt
Croutons
Custard
Curds

D
Dairy 
Delactosed whey
Demineralized whey
Dextrin**** see below
Durum

E
Edible Starch
Einkorn Wheat

F
Farina
Filler
Fu (dried wheat gluten )
NONE of the following Flours:
   Barley flour
   Bleached All-Purpose Flour
   Bread Flour
   Brown Flour 
   Durum flour 
   Enriched Flour 
   Gluten Flour
   Graham Flour
   Granary Flour
   High protein Flour
   High Gluten Flour
  
High Protein Flour
   Oat Flour
   Wheat Flour
   White Flour
   Whole-Meal Flour 

G
Galactose
Germ 
Glutamate (Free)
Glutamic Acid 
Gravy Cubes **** see below
Gravy mixes (unless homemade with cornstarch) 
Ground Spices (some contain gluten)
Gum Base

H
Half & Half
Hard Wheat
Herbs with wheat fillers
Hydrolysates:
   casein
   milk protein
   whey
   whey protein
Hordeum
Hydrolyzed oat starch
Hydrolyzed Plant Protein (HPP) 
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein HVP

J
Job's Tears (aka Pearl Barley) 

K
Kamut (Pasta wheat) 

L
Lactic Acid (may or may not contain milk ) If listed as an ingredient verify source with manufacturer!
Lactic Acid starter may contain milk If listed as an ingredient verify source with manufacturer!
Lactoglobulin
Lactalbumin
Lactalbumin phosphate
Sodium lactylate (may or may not contain casein)
Lacto globulin
Lactose
Lactulose
Lactylate
** (see below)

M
Magnesium caseinate

Malt/ Malt Extract/Malt Syrup/ Malt Flavoring  (NOTE: malt can be derived from barley but also from corn.  Always verify the source of malt with product's manufacturer!)

Milk Protein
The following Ingredients  may contain milk protein flavorings: 
    
Caramel  coloring 
     Brown sugar flavoring
     Bavarian cream flavoring
     Coconut cream flavoring
     Natural chocolate  flavoring  
NO Milk & NONE of the following milk products:
   
Milk  derivatives: 
    Milk powder
    Milk solids
    Malted milk
    Condensed milk
    Evaporated milk
    Dry milk
    Whole milk
    Low fat milk fat
    Nonfat milk
    Skim milk
    Goat's milk 
    Milk cheese lactose
    Non-dairy creamer butter
    Pudding
    Milkfat
    Rennet casein
    Sour Cream
    Sour cream solids
    Sour milk solids
    Whey in all forms  (including sweet, delactosed, protein concentrate)
    Yogurt
     

Margarines Always verify ingredients!  Some are dairy free.  See Margarines in Directory for list of possible acceptable products.  Always read labels and confirm any questionable ingredient!

Reminder: The letter "D" on a label next to "K" or "U" indicates presence of milk protein

Miso****   see below

Modified Food Starch (source is either corn or wheat) Always verify with manufacturer if this is listed as an ingredient.  Manufacturers are known to change ingredients and may change sources for their modified food starch without noting on label if  it comes from corn or wheat!) ALWAYS read labels and always verify questionable ingredients!

MSG (Made outside USA)**** see below
Mustard Powder (some contain gluten)

N
Natural Flavorings may sometimes contain hidden  ingredients that contain gluten and/or casein.  Any product with this listed as an ingredient should be called for verification.

O
Oats
Olestra (contains oats!)

P
Pasta
Pearl Barley 
Potassium Caseinate

R
Rice Malt (contains barley or Koji)
Rice Syrup (unless specified GF it contains barley enzymes)
Rye
Rye Semolina

S
Sauce mixes (read labels carefully, often contain wheat)
Seitan
Semolina
Semolina Triticum
Scotch
Shoyu (soy sauce)**** see below
Soba Noodles
Sodium Caseinate (contains MSG)
Sodium lactylate
** (see below)
Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate
** (see below)
Soy sauce (unless specified GF)
Spirits (Specific Types)
Spelt
Spelt Triticum spelta
Spices with wheat fillers
Starch (outside USA)
Stativa
Stock Cubes (many contain GLUTEN)
Strong Flour
Suet in Packets
Sulfites****see below

T
Teriyaki Sauce
Tritical
Triticale X triticosecale
Triticum
Hard Triticum

U
Udon ( wheat noodles)

V
Vegetable Starch
(Malt) Vinegar 
(Flavored) Vinegar (verify ingredients in flavors)
Vital Gluten
Vitamins (some contain gluten) 
Vulgar

W
Wheat 
Wheat bran
Wheat Durum Triticum
Wheat germ
Wheat gluten
Hard Wheat  
Wheat malt
Wheat Nuts
Wheat Oats
Wheat Pasta
Wheat starch
Wheat Triticum aestivum
Wheat Triticum mononoccum
Whole Wheat Berries

The following  labeled ingredients may indicate the presence of wheat protein:
    Gelatinized starch
    Natural flavoring
    Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
    Modified food starch
    Modified starch
Check with company

Whey (all forms Whey is dairy)
Whey Protein concentrate 
Whey Sodium Caseinate
White Grain Vinegar 

Always read labels

Note: Check ingredients listed on all products.
Luncheon meat, hotdogs, sausages may contain milk protein

Items made from wheat & flour

All of the items listed below contain unacceptable ingredients.  Most of these food items can be found without gluten and casein ingredients. Check your Health Food Stores and also the websites which are provided on the manufacturer's page of this website for many food items that are acceptable. 

NO Biscuits                                   
NO Bread
NO Bread crumbs
NO Cake flour
NO Cake & cake mixes
NO Chow mein noodles
NO Coffee creamer (all kinds)
NO Cookies
NO Cookie mixes
NO Croutons
NO Crackers
NO Doughnuts
NO Flavored prepackaged rice
NO Flavored prepackaged pasta
NO Flour tortillas
NO Flavored instant coffee
NO Flavored instant tea
NO Ice cream cones
NO Pasta
NO Pizza    
NO Pretzels  

Baby foods (read labels)

Cereal : most contain wheat & gluten, although there are exceptions; see cereal list

Hamburger patties: some contain fillers

****Additional additive information from above list

Caramel Color****(MAY indicate the presence of milk protein) The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending  on how it is manufactured. In the U.S.A. caramel color must conform with the FDA  standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: "the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), Invert sugar, Lactose (milk sugar), Malt syrup (usually from barley malt), Molasses  (from cane), Starch Hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), Sucrose (cane or beet)." Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization  process.

Calcium Disodium****(This additive does NOT contain Gluten or Casein  but many believe testing is overdue for this additive and it  may be harmful)

Dextrin**** is an incompletely hydrolyzed starch. It is prepared by dry heating corn, waxy maize, waxy milo, potato, arrowroot, WHEAT, rice, tapioca, or sago starches, or by dry heating the starches after:(1) Treatment with safe and suitable alkalis, acids, or pH control agents and (2) drying the acid or alkali treated starch. (1) Therefore, unless you know the source, you must avoid dextrin. - May 1997 Sprue-Nik News.(1) Federal Register (4-1-96 Edition) 21CFR Ch.1, Section 184.12277. (2) Federal Register (4-1-96) 21 CFR. Ch.1, Section 184.1444

Miso****Soybean paste fermented with barley, rice or other grain

Mono and diglycerides**** may contain a wheat carrier but if it does, it must state on the product label.

MSG Monosodium Glutamate****Does NOT contain Gluten or Casein but certain individuals may be sensitive.

Shoyhu (soy sauce)**** Can utilize a gluten-containing grain or by-product in the manufacturing process.

Sulfites**** Do NOT contain Gluten or Casein but certain individuals may be  sensitive to sulfites. They have been know to cause breathing problems, violent headaches, dizziness, hives and abdominal pain in certain sensitive individuals. 

**** Most celiac organizations in the USA and Canada do not believe that wheat starch is safe for celiacs. In Europe, however, Codex Alimentarius Quality wheat starch is considered acceptable in the celiac diet by most doctors and celiac organizations. This is a higher quality of wheat starch than is generally available in the USA or Canada.

Aspartame, Nutrasweet and Equal: These additives do NOT contain Gluten or Casein but it is recommended by some that all foods containing these additives should be avoided.  These are NOT considered healthy additives for anyone regardless of GFCF status.   This means all sugar free foods should be very carefully checked. These substances are also found in a great number of medicines like children’s acetaminophen and liquid suspensions. 

Additional Things to be Aware of:
Rice Dream beverage production process utilizes barley enzymes. 

Cross-contamination between food store bins selling raw flours and grains (usually via the scoops) 

Wheat-bread crumbs in butter, jams, toaster, counter, etc

Lotions, creams and cosmetics 

Stamps, envelopes or other  gummed labels

Toothpaste and mouthwash

Medicines: many contain gluten

Cereals: most contain malt flavoring, or some other non-GF ingredient. See acceptable list for GFCF Cereals

Miscellaneous The below products may contain Gluten or Casein. However, some of these products can be found that are GFCF. (See Acceptable list)

Sauce mixes and sauces
Fish sauce
Catsup/Ketchup 
Mustard 
Mayonnaise
Ice Cream
Packet & canned soups
Dried meals and gravy mixes/cubes
Laxatives
Grilled restaurant food - gluten contaminated grill. Fried restaurant foods - gluten contaminated grease
Ground spices - wheat flour is commonly used to prevent clumping.
Some brands of rice paper

**Not ALWAYS dairy-free, but often is. Made with a lactic acid base, which may or may not have dairy. Call the manufacturer and ask. If the food has a label of PARVE or a large “P”, it is non-dairy (and kosher!)

 

l

       
   

 

   
 
 
   
 
 
 
   
 

 
 


 

 

   
   
  products@gfcfdiet.com | The GFCF Diet Support Group, P.O. Box 1692, Palm Harbor, FL 34683
© Copyright  by The GFCFDiet.com All Rights Reserved